A NSW free from poverty and inequality


The NCOSS Board guides and monitors the business and affairs of NCOSS on behalf of the members. The Board is elected from the membership at the annual general meeting and is accountable to members.

Candidates for the Board are drawn from a wide cross-section of expertise within the social and community sector in NSW.

Annual Report 2016-17

View the digital version of the report.

NCOSS Constitution

Download a copy of the NCOSS Constitution.

NCOSS Strategic Plan: 2016-2019

Download the strategic plan.


Current members of the NCOSS Board are:


Tony Davies is an experienced executive with over twenty years experience at senior management levels in government agencies, the non-government sector and private enterprise. Tony is the CEO of Social Futures, an organisation which envisages communities in which people are equally valued and included.


Vice Presidents

Cecily Michaels is the Executive Officer at leep. She is the Secretary of the Springwood Neighbourhood Cooperative and previously worked with Union Aid Abroad – APHEDA as the Program Manager in the Middle East and Mekong Region Union. She is passionate about working with communities and the role volunteering has to play in strengthening communities and building social capital.

Adam Farrar

Adam Farrar is Principal Policy Officer at Shelter NSW. Before this he was the Executive Director of the NSW Federation of Housing Associations; and recently has served as the Chairperson of National Shelter. Adam is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and has provided strategic planning consultancy service over a number of years.


Christine Truong is the Director at VFD Consulting. Christine is a Finance Executive with over 12 years’ experience working in private and publicly listed entities across various industries. She is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand and an affiliate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is also currently serving on the board of the Naturopaths and Herbalists Association of Australia as a Non-Executive Director. She has extensive experience in providing financial management and oversight into strategic, business and operational development. 


Marianna Brungs is a Director at Noverak, and an Associate Director of Community Hubs and Partnerships at Futureye. She has held a range of senior roles with nfp, government and private sector organisations in Australia, China, Thailand and the UK, including with Avaaz.org, Girls Not Brides (The Elders Foundation), Crisis Action and the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. She has significant experience working with coalitions and membership-based organisations on human rights and social policy issues.

Ben Carblis is the State Director NSW/ACT for Mission Australia delivering specialist support to disadvantage Australians through youth services, aged care, family support and homelessness, affordable housing, mental health and employment and skills development in both metro and regional NSW. Ben has over 20 years’ experience in the sector and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

Kellie Checkley has been working in the social services sector for over 15 years. During this time she has worked at a number of not for profit organisations and sat on many Boards. She is a Juvenile Justice specialist and has a strong background and interest in social policy and young people. Currently Kellie is the Executive Officer of Project Youth.


David Fisher is CEO of HousingPlus. David has more than 25 years of experience in the Australian and UK community housing sectors at senior executive positions including one of the largest care providers in the UK. David has led and established a number of successful housing organisations’ diversification into new markets, including the provision of specialist aged care services at national and regional levels, and has expert knowledge in relation to governance, risk and financial planning.

Rabbi Mendel Kastel is the Rabbi and CEO of Jewish House Crisis Centre, an independent, not-for-profit charity providing crisis intervention and prevention services. Rabbi Kastel has been providing Rabbinic expertise to the Sydney community for over 20 years. He has deep community and social welfare experience, and believes in collaborative approaches. Rabbi Kastel is well recognised for applying innovative best practices to the provision of expert crisis services in the Sydney community.

Suellen McCaffrey is the General Manager People and Group Services at SGCH, one of Australia’s largest Community Housing Providers. Suellen is a registered psychologist and accredited coach, working for over 25 years in human resources and organisational development roles in the financial services sector, professional membership, educational environments and the not-for-profit sector, with a strong focus on leadership, culture and change management, employee relations, communications, performance and strategy.

Samantha Simmons is National Manager of the Aurora Education Foundation. Samantha is of Wiradjuri descent and has more than 20 years’ experience working in Indigenous Affairs in roles that include policy development and the delivery of social and economic programs in rural, remote and urban settings. She has held a range of senior management positions within the public service, higher education and community sectors and is committed to the overarching aim for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and their respective cultures to have the opportunity to fully participate, contribute and prosper in broader Australian society. 

Eamon Waterford

Eamon Waterford is the Director of Policy at the Committee for Sydney. Previous to this he was the Director of Policy and Advocacy at Youth Action NSW. He sits on the board of the Sydney Community Foundation and has served as a board member of the Sydney Alliance, the Multicultural Youth Affair Network NSW and as a Consumer Consultative Committee member at the ACCC.

Tony Davies
Vice Presidents
Cecily Michaels
Adam Farrar
Christine Truong
Marianna Brungs
Ben Carblis
Kellie Checkley
David Fisher
Rabbi Mendel Kastel
Suellen McCaffrey
Samantha Simmons
Eamon Waterford

Follow NCOSS - NSW Council of Social Service on: